Beautiful Stranger

I enjoy public transportation. Though it is not as comfortable as being in an owned car or in a cab, and sometimes you have to endure the awkward feeling when almost everyone you encounter stares at you as if to measure up who you are and what you have, there is something that makes me relish each experience. I guess it’s the social interaction, the contact with others—with people who are total strangers to you.

One sunny day, I was in a bus squeezing past others to find a seat. The bus was full of people who were obviously in a hurry to get to their destination. I couldn’t get a seat so I just held on to one of the rail handles. I noticed there were males seated but no one cared to give his seat to me or the other girls standing. No more gentlemen today, I told myself.

About three seats away from me was an old man, his face brown and lined with wrinkles. He stood up, motioned for me to come, and offered his seat. I hesitated to accept his offer because I saw he had a cane. I knew he needed to be seated more than I did. But he was insistent so I smiled at him, accepted the seat he was offering me, and thanked him. The trip lasted almost 2 hours because traffic was bad, it was rush hour. I thanked the old man again when we got off at the bus stop. He just smiled back at me. I watched him walk away slowly, his every step aided by his cane.

In today’s busy and hurried world, I wonder how often this kind of thing happens in a day, how often does someone pause for a while and take advantage of the opportunities to help others, to make others feel better and comfortable. I think of that day and remember the old man who gave me his seat and stood for 2 hours in spite of his weak knees, a beautiful stranger who reached out to me one sunny day.

5 Responses to Beautiful Stranger

  1. Sophiagurl says:

    hi stillwaters, i love the theme of your blog. i’m not techy myself…i think it’s what you are writing about that counts the most. i will be looking forward to your entry. thanks for the visit and keep up the good work here =)

    SOPHIAGURL,
    thank you for visiting my blog. i appreciate the encouragement. i will try to post here as oftern as i can. i am still still learning how to go about my wordpress blog.

  2. cotojo says:

    Hi Stillwaters,
    I like the layout you have and your first story is an inspiration. There are many selfish people but there are many more that are not selfish at all. There is much kindness and generosity in the world, much more than our political masters would like us to believe.
    Good luck with your posts, have a great day.
    cotojo
    http://cotojo.wordpress.com

    COTOJO,
    Thank you. Your compliments is an encouragement for me to keep on blogging.

  3. Beckie says:

    WOW! That’s a beautiful story. It’s true that many people today are so wrapped up in their own little lives that they don’t even notice others, much less someone in need. What a kind gentleman and I’m sure he will be blessed for his action.

    BECKIE,
    Thanks. If only people will notice those who need help and take time to act on it, the world will be a much better place to live in.

  4. Forgetfulone says:

    What a sweet story. Thanks for hopping by my blog. I may have to give “Tuesdays” a summer read.

    FORGETFULONE,
    Hello there. Hey, thanks for visiting.I appreciate it.
    I’m sure you’ll enjoy “Tuesdays.” It’s really a good read.

  5. Valerie says:

    It is the kindness of strangers that renews my faith in the world we live in today. With so much pain and suffering in this world, we need to keep alert to people around us who may need our help, our assistance or just a kind smile. We go about our lives, usually in a rush, focused on the task at hand. We may miss a connection that could have been made between two human beings. This story is wonderful, and it has renewed my faith. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

